The Practice



Pittsburgh International Airport

Pittsburgh International Airport needs to be updated to meet the changing needs of the XXI century. The current facility was built for connecting passengers and is not ideal for an O&D market. 

The Terminal Modernization Program will create a more efficient, enjoyable experience from curb to gate for passengers and users, by consolidating landside and airside operations into one connected, adaptable facility.

The concept design for the Terminal Modernization Program at Pittsburgh International Airport reflects the region’s best qualities of Nature, Technology and Community (what we have called NATECO). It was developed by looking at functionality first, and then, the form, to create a design that is iconic, practical and affordable.  
The inspiration came directly from the region’s rolling hills and rivers, Pittsburgh technological renaissance and its strong sense of community.
The concept design features:
- Separate levels for departing and arriving passengers
- Expanded TSA checkpoint
- Shorter walking distances 
- Green plazas/gathering spaces
- Additional space for concessions, artwork and amenities
- Technological improvements and automated systems
- Emphasis on sustainability

At its opening in 2023, the new terminal complex’s flexible design will have the capability to meet all airline growth and passenger traffic forecasts, being designed for 12-18 million passengers per year. 


Place/Date: Pttsburgh, Pennsylvania, September 2018-2023
Client: Allegheny County Airport Authority
Budget: Confidential
Surface: 632,000 sq ft
Arquitects: Gensler + HDR in association with luis vidal + architects
Contributors: Burohappold, BNP, Thorton Tomasetti, OJB, Ricondo, F+G
Project Status: Schematic Design
Team: Gensler + HDR in association with luis vidal + architects