The Practice



New International Airport Arturo Merino Benítez

Designed to accommodate more than 25 million passengers per year, the architectural design of the new terminal takes inspiration from a variety of sources. On the one hand, the landscapes, geography, flora and fauna of Chile, the abundant craftsmanship of its native peoples and numerous examples of world-renowned Chilean buildings; and on the other hand, the experience of the study in the field of architecture applied to airport infrastructure.

The new terminal 2 is equipped with a new passenger handling area and four “piers”.

Each of the four piers is connected to the Central Processor through corridors. The piers themselves are the border between the land side and the air side. The retail, food and beverage areas are distributed evenly by the piers. The visibility of all the stores is improved, as it rises in the flow of passengers passing by them. Travelers can choose between different options as they approach the departure lounge. The VIP lounges of airlines are strategically distributed by the piers so that the distance to the boarding gates is not excessive for this type of travelers.

Between the new processor and the current Terminal 1, two covered parking spaces with a capacity of more than 3,000 seats will be located. The cover of both parking will be used as a large elevated welcome square, where landscaping is the main protagonist.

Definitive Design or Detail Design​​​​​​​: ADPi  in association with luis vidal + architects

Referential Design: Stantec/Amunategui-Barreau

​​​​​​​New International Airport Arturo Merino Benitez


Place/Date: Santiago, Chile, 2015
Client: SCL-CJV
Budget: Confidential
Area: 250.000 m2 + 100.000 m2 parking
Architects: luis vidal + architects / ADPi
Contributors: IDOM, Setec, Arcadis, VMB
Project Status: Under Construction
Team: João Abreu - Andoni Arrizabalaga - María Astiaso - David Ávila - Guillermo Barra - Bernat Burguera - Ismael Cárdenas - Belén Carrillo - Valentina Chisci - Marta Cumellas - Max Daiber - Itziar de Francisco - Jorge Domínguez - Franco Encina - Beatriz Freiria - Magdalena García de Durango - Sandra González - Carolina Hernández - Trinidad Hildebrandt - José Miguel Ibáñez - Néstor Jara - Pablo Labra - Juan Francisco Letelier - David López - Arturo López-Bachiller - Carlos Maldonado - Concha Millán - Carolina Montenegro - Pilar Morell - Sara Moreno - Nicolás Orellana - Carlos Peña - Enrique Pérez - Isabel Rodrigo - Juan Manuel Rubio - - Santiago Sánchez - Eduardo Sánchez - Encarnación Serna - Gentaro Shimada - Christian Slaughter - Javier Torrado - Óscar Torrejón - Italo Veas - Luis Vidal