The Practice


proyectos / Transportation / HEATHROW AIRPORT TERMINAL 2

Heathrow Airport Terminal 2

Terminal 2, The Queen’s terminal, inaugurated by Her Majesty Queen Elisabeth II of England on June 23, 2014, has become a landmark building in terms of its energy efficiency. It is the first airport in the world to obtain the BREEAM Excellent rating, thanks to a system designed to reduce CO2 emissions by 40% through the combination and development of active and passive energy systems. The proposed construction method minimizes the impact on existing facilities and on the urban surroundings. This is possible thanks to innovative solutions based on modular systems and through a carefully designed construction program.

The new T2 is defined by a roof whose three large waves emphasize the three main parts of the process passengers go through before flying: check-in, security control, and boarding. In this way, function and shape are fully integrated, helping passengers to easily orientate themselves through the terminal in an intuitive and natural way. 

The roof waves are tilted against each other, creating skylights in their north-facing intersections, allowing the entry of sufficient natural light, while reducing solar radiation and providing significant energy savings.

The passengers in departures will enjoy more than 20,000 m² of commercial space on two floors, next to the departure lounge and offering excellent views of the airfield.

A first class hub for 20 M pax/Year



2018 Skytrax World Airport Awards – World’s Best Terminal 


Airport Service Awards - Best Airport in Europe


The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design and The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies – International Architecture Award ­– Green GOOD DESIGN


Independent Travel Awards - Best Airport in the World

BIFM Awards 2015 Impact on Customer Experience

Airport Council International Europe (ACI Europe) - Eco-Innovation Award

Airport Council International Europe (ACI Europe) - Best Airport Award

The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design and The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies – International Architecture Award

Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) Awards - Project of the Year

Annual Lighting Design Awards - Client of the Year

Annual Lighting Design Awards - Special lighting project of the year for the Seafood bar

Annual Lighting Design Awards - Lighting Project of the Year

Annual Lighting Design Awards - Public Building Project of the Year

International Yacht & Aviation Awards 2015 – Best Terminal and Lounge


International Property Awards - Best International Public Service Architecture

British Construction Industry (BCI) Award - Large Project of the Year over 50 M pounds – Finalist

UK Property Awards - Best Regional UK Project

Lux Awards - Lighting

Win Awards - Lighting, Interior Design

5 Stars Gold Award – UK Property - Best Public Service Architecture in London

Schueco Excellence Awards for Design and Innovation


Green Apple Award - Sustainability

National Constructing Excellence Award - Health and Safety

Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents Awards – Gold Award

Sustainability Leaders Awards - Sustainability building: private sector


Place/Date: London, 2008-2014
Client: Hetco
Budget: 880 M £
Surface: 220.000 m²
Arquitects: luis vidal + architects
Contributors: CARMA - CG. Proyectos - Davis Langdon Schumann Smith - Euroestudios - Fhecor Ingenieros - Fractal - Gleeds - HOARE LEA - Immodo - Merebrook - O.T. Ferrovial Agroman - REEF Associates Ltd - Siemens-Van
Project Status: Built
Team: João Abreu - Raquel Albarrán - Patricia Allona - Alejandra Alonso - María Álvarez-Santullano - Mar Araujo - Paz Armenta - María Astiaso - Assier Aurrekoetxea - David Ávila - Laura Belmonte - Irene Capote - Eva Clark - Eva Couto - Marta Cumellas - Zelia Da Costa - Cristina Da Cotta - Chris Dawson - Sara del Piñal - Oscar Ignacio Encabo - David Fernández-Feito - José Luis Fernández-Moráis - Sonia Ferreras - Ana Belén Franco - Amparo Galván - Marta Gálvez - Emilio García - Magdalena García de Durango - Isabel Gil - Jaime Gimeno - Raúl Gómez - Florian Graumann - Nima Haghighatpour - Andrés Infantes - Carlos Jiménez - Itziar Lamy - Reyes León - Patricia Lozano - Ana Claudia Mantovani - Paloma Martín - Álvaro Martínez - Álvaro Mayoral - José Miguel Ibáñez - David López - Jugatx López Amurrio - Arturo López-Bachiller - Lourdes Moreno - Héctor Orden - David Palomares - José Parejo - Enrique Pérez - Sonia Pérez - David Pérez Escudero - Cecilia Piñeiro - Ángela Rodríguez - Arturo Romero - Francisco Rojo - Santiago Sánchez - Manuel Sánchez de Ocaña - Francisco Sanjuan - Carlos Sanz - Beatriz Sendín - Teresa Serrano - Gentaro Shimada - Óscar Torrejón - Marcos Velasco - Luis Vidal - Aldana Zabala