The Practice


proyectos / Interior Design / RESEARCH LABORATORIES

Research Laboratories

In order to promote the research activity in the Palmas Altas Campus, a new R&D&I lab center is conceived. This is an ambitious project, which will integrate the experimental activity in different areas (biomolecular, chemical, materials, etc.) through the creation of an internal management body, Abengoa Research, which will coordinate the technology companies and the Loyola University, located in the Campus.

The excellent location of the laboratories in the Palmas Altas Campus, facing south in a newly created space, allows for the entry of natural light, creating high quality and comfortable workspaces for researchers and users.

The laboratories are located in wide and open spaces, close to the glass facade, while the control rooms and ancillary rooms are grouped in bands, which run parallel to the communication core. In this way, movement flows are clear and functional, and the workspaces are spacious and bright.

The works include a new facade for this part of the building, all the services, the fit out and the equipment. The new area is built on the ground floor of the office buildings, so the challenge is to create a separate identity for the laboratory project without losing the spatial and overall coherence.

A production center aimed at first class research and development


Place/Date: Seville, 2013
Client: Abengoa
Budget: 5M€
Area: 2.806 m²
Architects: luis vidal + architects / RSH + Partners
Contributors: Arup, Decibel
Project Status: Built
Team: Patricia Allona - María Álvarez-Santullano - María Astiaso - David Ávila - Stepen Barrett - Stuart Blower - Pablo Codesido - Luis Colino - Eva Couto - Esther Crespo - Marta Cumellas - Almudena de Benito - David Fernández-Feito - Jason García - Claudia García Nieto - Isabel Gil - Lennart Grubb - Ivan Harbour - Amo Kalsi - Marcin Koltunski - Juan Laguna - Jugatx López Amurrio - Carmen Márquez - Irene Méndez - Mariola Merino - Héctor Orden - María Ortega - Javier Palacios - Almudena Pérez - Bárbara Pérez - Richard Rogers - Francisco Rojo - Irene Rojo de las Heras - Roberta Sartori - Amelia Seisdedos - Gentaro Shimada - Simon Smithson - David Sobrino - Graham Stirk - Óscar Torrejón - Paloma Uriel - Veronica Van Kesteren - Josefina Vago - Laura Vega - Luis Vidal - Laura Villa