The Practice



Quillota-Petorca Biprovincial Hospital - Chile

The Ministry of Public Works (MOP), in collaboration with the Ministry of Health (MINSAL) and the Healthcare System of Viña del Mar (SSVM), has commissioned luis vidal + architects and SWARQ for the development of a preliminary draft design of the Hospital located in the V Region of Chile, Valparaíso.

This new hospital center aims to be a benchmark that serves the provinces of Quillota and Petorca. The construction and financing of this hospital will be done through a public-private participation model (PPP).

The design is located in a base with the functional treatment program and, through a spine that contains uses of a non-clinical nature, the hospital block stands.

Thus, the benefits of a hospital are combined in the spine, such as direct natural lighting of all rooms, the chance of growing without losing the identity of the building, and the great saving of space in comparison to the traditional double corridor system.

As an innovation, the areas destined for Admissions are located on this spine, enjoying exceptional views and facing to the north, the best orientation in this hemisphere.

With regards to seismic isolation, a single plate supported on insulators will be considered, under which a registry and maintenance space will simply be developed as a sanitary chamber, given the groundwater level conditions of the plot.

Optimal configuration of built areas


Place/Date: Comuna de Quillota, Región de Valparaíso, Chile, 2013-2014
Client: Directorate General of Public Works, Ministry of Public Works
Budget: Confidential
Surface: 64.511 m2 (50.555 m2 +13.956 m2 parking)
Arquitects: luis vidal + architects / SWARQ
Contributors: Luis Arturo Soler, Rubén Boroschek Asociados RBA, Vectoria
Project Status: Preliminary project and detailed study
Team: João Abreu - María Astiaso - María Álvarez-Santullano - David Ávila - Fernando Callejón - Eva Couto - Marta Cumellas - Alba del Castillo - Nuria Espina - Equipo Swarq - David Fernández-Feito - David Fernández Llompart - Guillermo García - Isabel Gil - Carlos González - Mónica Gutiérrez - Carolina Hernández - Arturo López-Bachiller - Julio Isidro Lozano - Patricia Lozano - Jesús Mejías - Lourdes Moreno - Sara Moreno - Enrique Pérez - Irene Rojo de las Heras - Manuel Sánchez de Ocaña - Pedro Portillo - Francisco Sanjuan - Francisco José Terrero - Óscar Torrejón - Sol Uriarte - Luis Vidal